Bus Driver of the Year Award

Driver of Year pic.jpeg

STAA would like to congratulate Brenda Dennis, who has won the
School Bus Driver of the Year Award.

This award celebrates the contributions that school bus drivers make every school day transporting Alberta’s students to and from school. The award is based on the full-time driver’s daily duties, responsibilities and public interactions of transporting school children on a daily basis.

“Brenda has always treated my boys as part of her family. Keeping them in line, when their actions require it, but also making sure they feel welcome on her bus and that the ride to school and home feels the same as if it were in one of our vehicles. She goes out of her way to come to watch the boys play hockey. She supports our children, laughs with them and welcomes them every morning,” said Sandra
Congdon, parent.

Dennis has been driving the school bus for over 32 years and has been working with RDCRS since 2005. In that time, she has been involved in many different roles including bus driver, parts person, service writer, first aid instructor, school bus driver improvement program, driver trainer, dispatcher, receptionist and a routing specialist.

“Brenda works very hard and her commitment to her families and student safety is exemplary. She is always available to her peers for assistance in and out of formal training,” said Transportation Manager, Shevon Medicraft at Red Deer Catholic Regional Schools.